The Marx and Philosophy Society aims to encourage scholarly engagement with, and creative development of, the philosophical and foundational aspects of Marx’s work. The society welcomes contributions from any philosophical or political position.

The Marx and Philosophy Society was founded in 2003 by Chris Arthur, Andrew Chitty, Joseph McCarney and Sean Sayers. It holds an annual conference in the summer as well as seminars and book symposia throughout the year. It has established itself as a central focus for scholarly work and discussion in the area. It has produced two collections of papers given at its conferences.

Our partner site, the Marx and Philosophy Review of Books was launched in 2010. It publishes online reviews of a broad range of recent theoretical works of interest to the left. It has been enthusiastically received and has a large and growing readership all over the world.

News of forthcoming conferences and events, reports on past conferences and events, and notices of the latest book reviews are posted on the website. However, to keep up to date with the society, you should join our email list and/or follow us on facebook and twitter.

The Marx and Philosophy Society and the Marx and Philosophy Review of Books are entirely supported by voluntary contributions. All contributions no matter how small are much needed and greatly appreciated. Funds will be used to enhance the web site and to cover running and maintenance costs. For ways of contributing click here.

Annual accounts

Organising group

The organising group of the Society is

  • Tom Bunyard
  • Rebecca Carson
  • Andrew Chitty
  • Jan Derry
  • Jan Kandiyali
  • Meade McCloughan
  • Eric John Russell
  • Christoph Schuringa
  • Igor Shoikhedbrod